Author Interview: The Notorious Mrs. D

  • Tell us a little about yourself please.

Wow…that’s kinda tough. Hmmm…I’m 59, been married, been divorced. I have 3 kids, all grown. 1 grandkid in California. My son (who’s 25) has Down Syndrome and other issues. He’s fully dependent and lives with me at home, so he’s pretty much the center of everything I do. I’ve had a difficult time deciding what to do with my life, therefore, I’ve worked in several fields that range from customer service/sales, to home health aide, to special ed associate and now an optician. The common theme is helping people and making them feel happy. I’ve also been involved with work at whatever church I attend. Currently I serve in praise and worship, children’s church and the bookstore. My faith in Jesus is the most important aspect of my life. Over the years, I’ve made a lot of stupid choices; life has been rough. Had it not been for Him keeping a hold on me, I’m certain I wouldn’t have made it. I can thank Him for the lives of my children, especially my son. I’ve spent many hours praying for his life and each year he gets better and better.

  • What genre do you normally write in?

Currently I write children’s books. My hope is to inspire children (and their growed-ups) that they have worth, that they are loved, and that the love of God is available to them too. In addition to the fairy series, I have several titles that I’m working on. I get random juicy tidbits of content every so often. I have learned to immediately write them down to be used later. What’s interesting is that frequently it ends up being content for one of the titles I’m not working on yet.

  • How many titles do you currently have published?

3 – A Day in the Life of a Fairy and it’s Spanish version: Un Dia en la Vida de un Hada, and An Ogre Goes to Washington.

  • Where do you find the most inspiration?

Things just occur to me. Sometimes through prayer, everyday conversations, observing daily life. I tend to be rather animated in my thoughts. I think of weird little things. It’s like I have cartoons going in my head all the time (complete with goofy concepts and bad puns).

  • What is the hardest part of the writing process for you?

Getting past my insecurities and feelings of inadequacy; especially regarding illustrations. I can find all kinds of “important” things to draw me away from my projects so that I don’t have to face the insecurities.

  • Do you create your own covers?

For the most part, yes. I get a concept in my mind for the art. I can see it before I even finish the book. Then I’ve been utilizing the cover creator on KDP to help with formatting. I can use WORD, but the cover creator is so easy. You just pick a style and then insert your artwork and BAM, it’s done. I know that once I decide to publish through another source, I won’t be able to use that crutch anymore.

  • How do/did family and friends react when you tell them you’re an author?

Everyone has been VERY supportive and encouraging. In many cases they have been the reason to keep pushing past myself. Hardly a day goes by where someone doesn’t ask me when my next book is coming out. This may seem odd, but Dr. Stickel, my chiropractor is probably my biggest cheerleader. He promotes my books to his patients and has even allowed me to display them in his office.

  • Do you find it easier to work alone or in a busy space?

Quiet places are best. I have my space on the couch in the living room, but I can work most anywhere as long as I have my laptop. I’ve even been known to work in my car. Probably the most important ingredient here is avoiding interruption. I know I have to resist looking at my phone (FB, ect.) because it will draw me away. Next thing I know, I’ve lost hours to an unrelated Internet search.

  • What’s been the hardest part of promoting for you?

This kind of thing is hard for me anyway! I don’t talk about myself. I have a difficult time talking to people I don’t know. This whole thing really stretches me. First, the process of putting my creation out there for everyone to see is hard. I literally lay myself bare to the world. Then, having to take my creation and really talk about it to strangers…wow, scary, it’s almost painful.

  • How did you come up with the title ‘An Ogre Goes to Washington’?

One day I was just really grieved about the garbage I was hearing on the news and how people speak about one another especially those in leadership roles. Now, this isn’t limited to politics. I see it everywhere. Anyway, I realized that our society is teaching our young people that it is perfectly acceptable to speak in terrible ways about people and those in leadership above them. I realized that with such examples, they may come to believe that they can speak ill of their employers and then be rudely awakened by a pink slip. There are better ways to express our concerns. I believe people in leadership and our media have a responsibility to remember that they are an example for the children in our society. So, while I was praying about that, the idea for the book came to me. And then I spoke the name, “An Ogre Goes to Washington.” Immediately I got chills. I thought to myself there was no way I could publish such a book, especially given our hot political climate. I even argued with myself about it because on one hand, people might buy it just because they expect it to be a book bashing our president (which it’s not). On the other hand, some folks might decide I’m not the author for them and I could loose readers. Plus, I didn’t want to offend anyone. BUT I knew it HAD to be written. I even sent a copy to President Trump and to Senator Grassley of Iowa, both of whom sent a very nice (and very formal) thank you letter. My hope is that the books circulate amongst the people there in DC. Maybe someone will read it and the message will spread.

  • Do you know who bought the first copy of your book?

Julie Rumple, the special ed teacher I used to work with at Valley Southwoods. She’s one of my biggest supporters. She wants a signed copy of every new title and refuses to accept them for free. She an amazing teacher and a true inspiration.

  • What’s your favorite writing drink?

Lol…I tend to just have something next to me to sip on while I write; usually coffee. I’ve never tried creative writing while drinking alcohol. I tend to be a lightweight so I’m not sure if that would help or hinder my productivity.

Published by IABE515

I am a book nerd and lover of words! So I share what I can from my time as a VP of a publishing house, and more than 10 years in the self-publishing game! The IABE is my attempt at bringing books back; bringing literacy back, and making intelligence sexy again, one book at a time.

Leave a comment